top of page
Search

That’s Not How This Works!

Seems like the whole is going crazy right now! CVS requires me to place the item I want to purchase in a basket in front of the counter to, “protect customers and employees.” Following instructions (admittedly with a possible little eye roll), I watch as the clerk immediately reaches in with his gloved hand and picks up my items, rings me up, and places it back in the basket for me to collect. After the transaction is complete, the clerk moves on to the customer behind me and repeats the process—without exchanging his gloves.

Then I’m at the Burger King drive-through where the young lady taking my payment extends a plastic container and individuate this is where I am to place my debit card. After I do so, she reaches in (again, with a gloved hand) and removes the card, swipes it through the card reader, then hands it back to me using the same plastic container. I asked her what the point of the container was since she handled the card exactly the same as if I had handed it directly to her. She looked at me blankly, clearly not understanding the question. I didn’t try again. But I did notice at the pick-up window, my order was handed to me directly (no container running interference) by a different young lady wearing no gloves at all.

I catch myself sometimes being overly critical of people who are just trying to do the best they can, or who are just doing what they’re told, in a trying and uncertain situation. It’s unChristian, uncharitable, unkind. And it’s also incredibly hypocritical, because such an attitude ignores all the times I’ve behaved illogically or inconsistently with my professed beliefs. I, too, have been guilty of obeying the letter of some law and ignoring (or not even understanding) the principle behind the law. I’ve strained at a few few gnats in my lifetime, and gorged on a few camels, as well (Matthew 23:24). I have, as Robert Frost once wrote, “Traded form for function”, until my heart’s grown cold. I’ve done the spiritual equivalent of the behaviors I’ve described above, and I’ve reaped the rewards of such a mindless and spiritless approach to spirituality.

I’ve sung with my mouth . . . while my spirit has been silent. I’ve prayed with my eyes closed, my hands folded, my head bowed . . . and my mind a million miles away. I’ve avoided tobacco and alcohol . . . and gorged on sugar as if it were the very source of life. I’ve thrown my dollars into the offering plate (often reluctantly) . . . and blown a small fortune on various amusements and entertainment. I’ve read my bible carefully . . . to find the verse I need to win an argument. I’ve out-Phariseed the Pharisees . . . all the while shaking my head at their legalism and spiritual blindness. I have been the blind . . . condemning the blind.

Oh, Father, forgive! Cleanse me of my arrogance. Look upon this emptiness I pretend is fullness and make it full indeed. Create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit within me (Psalm 51:10). Change my critical nature into humility and kindness. Love me into Love, and rest me forever inside Your . . .

Peace.


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page